Working in busy dock and harbour environments necessitated small locomotives with short wheelbases, and at the turn of the last Century, the Lancashire & Yorkshire railway at Horwich designed and built a class of locomotives affectionately known as ‘Pugs’, specifically designed to work in the dockland areas of Goole, Fleetwood, Liverpool & Salford.
No.19 is one of several Pugs sold by the LMS in the 1930’s. Purchased by contractors John Mowlem in 1931 and named ‘Basset’. It was used on a contract to extend the Southampton docks, and was then re-sold to the United Glass Bottle Manufacturers in 1935, where it was renamed ‘Prince’. During it’s time working here, it worked alongside fellow RSR resident, Borrows Well Tank “The King”.
Of the many constructed, only two remain, both in the custody of the L & Y Trust. Whilst sister engine ‘No.68′ (51218) has been frequently seen on various photographic exhibitions around the country, No.19 has been cosmetically overhauled for display in our museum building at Riversway. Former owners Mowlem organised a feasibility study in the mid 1990’s, but the costs associated with bringing No.19 back to live steam are too excessive.
The Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Trust was established in 1988 by the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway Preservation Society and in 1991 became a Registered Charity (registration number 1002627 in England). The Trust owns a unique collection of steam locomotives and carriages previously owned by the Lancashire & Yorkshire Railway.
Find out more at http://www.lyrtrust.org.uk/